I’m Participating in the Olympic Games Readathon!

Hey all *waves*

This July I am participating in the Olympic Games Readathon! This is a Percy Jackson themed readathon that I participated in last year as well and I am excited to be participating in it again. 

The Teams

Because this is a Percy Jackson themed readathon there are nine teams to choose from based on the Olympian gods. 

  1. Poseidon
  2. Hades
  3. Demeter
  4. Aphrodite
  5. Athena
  6. Artemis
  7. Apollo
  8. Hephaestus 
  9. Hestia

My Decisions

Last year I chose to join team Hephaestus so this year I decided to do the same. So here are the prompts and the books I chose to read for them. 

Read a book in which the main character owns a weapon with a name.

I have been doing a slow reread of Percy Jackson and the Olympians in amongst Uni and just a general lack of motivation to read lately. And any of these books fits perfectly with this prompt as Percy and his sword Anaklusmos (I could picture this word in my mind but had to look up how to spell it), otherwise known as Riptide. 

Read a book with a cover as bright as fire (orange, yellow, white, etc.)

I keep saying I’ve been meaning to read this book so this readathon is a perfect time to actually do that. And I think it’s bright orange cover fits perfectly (as well as the title) with this prompt. 

Read a book that features Technology

Tarnished by the Stars by Rosiee Thor is a book I have heard of before but recently it came to my attention again so I decided to get the ebook and give it a go. Also this cover is just gorgeous. 

Hephaestus often works with cyclops. Read a book with a non-human main character. 

For this one i have decided to reread a classic, Black Beauty. I read this one years ago and have considered reading it again because I noticed there was a fairly recent movie on Disney+ that I might watch soon. And I may as well read the book first. And this is of course through the perspective of a horse. 

Hephaestus was cast out from Olympus and prefers to spend time alone. Read a stand alone novel. 

This Golden Flame by Emily Victoria is a book on my shelf that just keeps staring out at me as if begging me to pick it up. And I’m pretty sure it is a standalone too. So thus it is chosen. 

Bonus Challenges

Alongside the prompts for each team there are also bonus challenges should you choose to do them. At this stage I don’t have any plans to do them, but if I find myself speeding through the books for the Hephaestus prompts I may choose to attempt one or more of them. Just depends on how I go. 

Sword and Shield: A book featuring a character whom you would not get along with.

Archery: A book shorter than 200 pages. 

Pegasus Riding: A book published within the last 5 years. 

Monster Fighting: A book featuring magical creatures. 

Canoeing: A book that takes place on or near a body of water. 

Climbing Wall: The next book in a series

Capture the Flag: One of your most anticipated books

Important Links

If you want to find out more about this readathon be sure to check out the Announcement video for the readathon below as well as the Olympic Games social media accounts.

YouTube Announcement Video

Twitter

Instagram

What about you? What books are you planning to read this month? Have you participated in any readathons before? Are you participating in this one? 

Leave a comment